My biggest style inspos

Hello lovely! I have been absent for some time but this is my long awaited return post. I have been writing for The Tab a lot more recently so if you want to check me out there then please do! Here is a handy link for lazy ppl just like me: click here!!!

I wanted to talk today about my biggest style inspirations (when I just wrote that I spelled it “stile” which is more proof that I am slowly going insane) so I can tell you who they are, what they are and why I think they are the grooviest people in the world. Hopefully this gives you an insight on my personal style because half of the time I don’t know what it is – so how can you? Anyways, here are some cool cats that I think are 10/10.

Cher Horowitz

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 23.52.19

She had to be first, didn’t she? I can’t neglect the queen of 90’s style and my all round life inspo. The tartan, the tennis skirts, the sheer white top and knee high socks – need I say more! Cher is everything I love about 90’s fashion and preppy American style and she guides me like a plaid lighthouse.

Best outfit: The tartan oversized coat and beret combo. I live for this look.

Screen Shot 2017-03-26 at 23.58.09

Sunbeamsjess

jessie

An actual real human person this time – not a 90’s icon. Jess is a YouTuber/student and possibly the best person you’ll ever see on youtube. She is less of the cotton candy Zoella brand YouTuber type (can you tell I’m not a fan) and a more sophisticated kinda gal – and also the only YouTuber I watch regularly. She is v well dressed and has a hell of a lot of money but deffo knows how to spend it. She regularly wears culottes, vintage sportswear, a thousand rings and the UNIF caleb jumper which I love, and her use of oversized everything gives me life. I would highly recommend watching her for a dose of lifestyle inspo, she is a very cool and motivated student as well, and for regular style inspo too. Here is a link to her channel: click click!!!

Best outfit: This feels slightly weirder because she’s a real person but here is one of my favs from her most recent week in outfits vid

Screen Shot 2017-03-27 at 00.07.30

Charli XCX

Screen Shot 2017-03-27 at 00.09.31

Charli’s whole vibe is 90’s retro school girl and I love it. Also I’m pretty sure I own that skirt. She dresses loud but casual, like if Cher Horowitz met American Apparel’s best sellers page and they made a pop song. A strange thing to imagine but a good vibe none the less. Old skool Charli and 2017 Charli are equally cool, with younger Charli favouring slogan tees and platforms, while current Charli XCX seems to just love bikini tops being worn with tennis skirts – that’s my kinda combo.

Best outfit: When she wore that one Cheerleader outfit through basically the whole of the Sucker tour. This is classic American varsity cool Charli and is exactly what I would wear if I had the ability to personalise my own cheerleader outfit.

charli

Tavi Gevinson

Screen Shot 2017-03-27 at 00.23.25

I just love the way this woman’s mind works. She is artistic and all over the place and loves the interaction of pop culture and youth. Tavi also wears a vinyl skirt like no one else and emanates Petra Collins vibes effortlessly. Tbh she makes me want to move to New York, live in a one bedroom apartment and write for Rookie mag. Ezra Koenig did not deserve this woman.

Best outfit: The Nylon shoot and that vinyl skirt

tavi

Yannis Philippakis

Screen Shot 2017-03-27 at 00.46.02

This 5’7″ Greek Foals frontman had my heart (in terms of style) as soon as he wore that printed jacket in the Inhaler music video. He loves his black jeans and oversized jackets, which is one of the key features of Midmads style. Past Yannis has worn things that we don’t talk about, like the entirety of his looks in 2009-2011, but he has redeemed himself since. Loose patterned shirts, camel jackets and stripes are in and a terrible lack of facial hair is out. Anyway – this man is the best kind of cool.

Best outfit: Obviously the Inhaler jacket. I have a similar one from Topshop but it’s never going to be nearly as good.

Screen Shot 2017-03-27 at 00.55.39.png

The ladies and men who make my life

blogpost.jpg

That’s right, it could be you! I’ve previously mentioned my stylish mother, to whom I owe any stylishness that I possess, and also my v trendy sister and her incredibly well put together gf Pearl. There has never been a more aesthetic couple, trust me. All my fav gal pals and boy friends guide me too, giving me inspiration from their instas on the daily. If it weren’t for these people I truly would have no style at all. I am very grateful for them, and you should be too because chances are you have to look at me so it’s in your best interests for me to be well dressed.

Til’ next time babes!

 

Leave a Reply

